Another “Formation” Post…

“EVERYONE WANTED TO BE A BLACK GIRL UNTIL BEYONCE DROPPED “FORMATION” 

I normally don’t get into the mix of media and more recently the whole bashing or backlash of “Formation” in general. Quite honestly, I’m not a huge Queen Bey fan…I know, I’m sorry, but that’s irrelevant. Everything I came across was an argument – why “I’m right and you’re wrong” vice-versa. HOWEVER, this is the first piece I have read that has spoken so truthfully and clearly about what this song means for me. I am a young, black woman having to work twice, three times as hard to achieve a certain success and beyond while asked to live up to a certain standard. I am reminded of that everyday – so when something moves me or I may speak up, it’s because it’s close to home. It’s not a debate, it’s not an argument, it’s the truth. The more I can embrace that, the more confident of woman I can be and love myself.

Leave a Reply

